This is a Lesson in Discipline

Speech prep for the Impact Equation speech. #impacteq The decision to commit to three books for an entire year is a challenge to all your thoughts and beliefs. It’s a challenge to your sense of discipline. It’s a challenge to all the excuses you (and I) make.

When we overload ourselves with anything, we allow for distraction. If we attempt 100 tasks and fail 80 of them, we think about how amazing it is that we accomplished 20 tasks. But that’s a small percentage of success. Failing by most standards, depending on what the goals were.

To commit to three books for a year is to say that you’re going to really work on three areas of your life, three areas of interest to you, three passions, and see what you can do with them.

What are your passions and how are they reflected in these books? What will you do to improve your commitment, your discipline, your ability to accomplish your goals? How has this challenge changed your view of yourself? What are you surprised about already?

  1. More than anyone else I need this. Thanks that I found out at the right time without dropping out. Let me now get back and get going within a few days. Yes I need to commit to be disciplined in 3 areas of my work and it fits me. Look forward to do it.

  2. I’ve already told you how this was timely for me also. Did I pick the right three books? Who knows. I’m willing to give it a focus for a year and see what I can find out about myself through reading only those three. Maybe I’ll find out I hate writing, or that I should do it more, or that I am much more out of shape than I thought, or much more flexible. I hope to find the deep romance I used to feel for life a long time ago. When you get to a certain age, you realize the years go by whether you pay attention to what you’re doing or not. A year is nothing; no time at all. What do we have to lose?




Leave a Reply

  • About

    Chris Brogan is a business designer and CEO of Human Business Works. He is a New York Times bestselling author, sought-after keynote speaker, and publisher. Learn more about Chris at his primary blog, [chrisbrogan.com]

